Algernon Blackwood is remembered best for his two superlative horror stories, “The Wendigo” and “The Willows.” But in his lifetime he wrote over 150 stories, at least a dozen novels, two plays and quite a few children’s books as well.
Born in London on March 14, 1869, Blackwood rebelled against his strong Catholic upbringing and began studying Oriental religions and the occult, later joining several occult societies. When he reached twenty, his father sent him to Canada, and there he spent several years before entering the U.S. and becoming a reporter for the New York Sun.
Returning to Britain in the late 1890’s, he soon began turning some of his strange experiences into stories, beginning with “A Haunted Island,” a ghost story set in the remote Canadian backwoods. An acquaintance sent these stories to a publisher and the result was The Empty House, soon followed by many more weird story collections and some truly strange and powerful novels.
Storyteller, mystic, adventurer, radio and television personality—Algernon Blackwood has been all of these in his rich and varied lifetime. In fact, as he revealed to his friends, most of his stories were based on actual events. By the time of his death in 1951, he had become one of the greatest writers of supernatural fiction in the 20th century.

  • John Silence—Physician Extraordinary / The Wave
  • 978-1-944520-25-0
  • Six stories featuring John Silence, the psychic doctor whose tales offer a strange combination of Holmesian detection and Lovecraftian horror, and a story of reincarnation as an ancient Egyptian love triangle is played out again in more modern times. New introduction by Stefan Dziemianowicz. September 2017.

  • The Human Chord / The Centaur
  • 978-1-944520-01-4
  • Two early novels by this monumental writer of supernatural fiction. "[The Centaur] was to be the favorite among [Blackwood's] novels, because it best represented all that he was trying to achieve… It is unlike any other work in the field of supernatural or mystical fiction." —Mike Ashley, Starlight Man. Spring 2016.

  • The Face of the Earth
  • 978-1-93358670-0
  • Blackwood biographer Mike Ashley has created a new collection of stories and essays by the master supernaturalist, most of which have never been in book format before. Also included is a definitive bibliography of Blackwood"s writings as well as a new introduction by Ashley. A publishing event for classic horror fans! Due March 2015.
  • This book is now available for your Kindle from and for your Nook at


  • Ten Minute Stories / Day and Night Stories
  • 978-1-933586-62-5
  • Two more superlative story collections of ghost stories, strange nature tales, weird events and dark fantasy from one of the greatest writers of supernatural fiction in the 20th century. Includes a new introduction by Mike Ashley, and a bonus short story.

  • Jimbo / The Education of Uncle Paul
  • 978-1-933586-13-7
  • Two mystical adventures set in the world of children. “I have rarely read a book that has given me such unqualified delight.” –Sidney Dark, Daily Express. New introduction by Mike Ashley, author of The Starlight Man.

  • Julius LeVallon / The Bright Messenger
  • 978-0-9749438-7-9
  • “The culmination of a lifetime’s experience... you will encounter nothing like them anywhere else in the whole of fantastic literature.” –Mike Ashley, from his introduction.

  • The Lost Valley / The Wolves of God
  • 978-1-933586-04-5
  • Two classic short story collections in one volume, including the "The Wendigo"— introduction by Simon Clark.

  • Pan's Garden / Incredible Adventures
  • 978-1-933586-15-1
  • Classic stories that defy categorization— introductions by Mike Ashley and Tim Lebbon. “[Blackwood’s imagination has] no rival at all for strength, sincerity, and poetic vision.” –The Standard.