Malcolm Braly was born in Portland, Oregon in 1925. Abandoned by his parents at an early age, he began a life of theft. He was first sent to the Preston School of Industry near Redding, California, eventually spending the first 40 years of his life in and out of prisons, including Nevada State Prison, Folsom State Prison and San Quentin, where he wrote his first three novels.
Knox Burger of Gold Medal Books offered him a contract and inspired Braly to take control of his life. After his final release Braly married and settled in Roxbury, New York. After 15 years of freedom, he died in a car accident in 1980.

  • Felony Tank
  • 978-1-933586-91-5
  • Seventeen-year-old Doug is in the wrong place at the wrong time and ends up in jail. What happens next could only have been written by the author of It's Cold Out There. Black Gat #6, available February 2016.

  • False Starts: A Memoir of San Quentin and Other Prisons
  • 978-1-933586-94-x
  • After starting out getting arrested for petty burglary, Braly couldn't get a break and spent much of his life behind bars. This is his searing autobiography, from the author of Shake Him Till He Rattles and On the Yard. Includes a new introduction by Rick Ollerman. Available February 2016.

  • Shake Him Till He Rattles / It's Cold Out There
  • 1-933586-03-6
  • Shake Him is a post-Beat tale set in San Francisco’s North Beach, and It's Cold is the story of an ex-con trying to make it on the outside. Author Ed Gorman called Shake Him Till He Rattles, "one of the best novels Gold Medal ever published." And literary historian H. Bruce Frankin claimed that It's Cold Out There "reminds me of Nathanael West at his best." Two underground classics back in print!

  • Shake Him Till He Rattles / It's Cold Out There / Felony Tank
  • Three Braly books for your e-reader.
  • This book is now available for your Kindle from and for your Nook at